Historical Football Kits


The Football League 1921 - 1922

football league logo 1888The Football League resumed after the Great War in 1919 amid pressure to create a truly national competition. In 1920 the Third Division was formed, consisting of all the clubs from the Southern League First Division except for Cardiff City (who were elected straight into Division Two). Grimsby Town, who had failed to be re-elected took Cardiff's place in the Third Division. The following season twenty leading clubs from the north of England and Wales were invited or elected to form Division Three (North) while the Third Division became Division Three (South). Only the champions of each division were promoted to the Second Division each season.

1914-15 | Season Gallery Index | 1939-40