Historical Football Kits


The Scottish Football League 1939 - 1940

After the collapse of the short-lived Scottish Third Division in 1926, the Scottish League returned to a two division structure. Twenty teams competed in each division with the Second Division champions and runners up replacing the bottom two clubs in the First Division each season. Armadale and Bo'ness later resigned and were not replaced, reducing the Second Division to 18 clubs by 1933.

The Old Firm now established a stranglehold on the competition - between them Celtic and Rangers won every First Division Championship between the wars except for the 1932 title, which went to Motherwell. With the outbreak of the Second World War the SFL was suspended for the duration with only a few fixtures completed. This gallery shows the membership as it was when the competition was abandoned.

<<1923-24 : 1946-47>>