Historical Football Kits


The Football League 1892-1893

In 1890 the Football League was extended from 12 to 14 clubs. At the end of the 1891-92 season it was decided to add a further two clubs to the League and create a Second Division. The Football Alliance was at the time already considered by most as the Second Division in waiting and 11 out its 12 members formed the new division. Darwen, who had failed re-election, took the Second Division place of Alliance club Birmingham St George's, which went out of business in the close season while The Wednesday (now Sheffield Wednesday), Nottingham Forest and Newton Heath (now Manchester United) were elected directly into the new First Division.

Division One
Aston Villa
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Derby County
Newton Heath
Nottingham Forest
Notts County
Preston North End
The Wednesday
West Bromwich Alb
Wolverhampton W
Division Two
Burslem Port Vale
Burton Swifts
Crewe Alexandra
Grimsby Town
Lincoln City
Northwich Victoria
Sheffield United
Small Heath
Walsall Town Swifts